Max Power

17 04 2012

Riding club today started on my hands and knees scrubbing the horses’ competition wear from the weekend. This was followed by a longer-than-previously (although still not independent) ride around the track on a *gorgeous*, tall, seal-brown fellow called Max, then grooming him and Shiro-chan, resulting in my lovely new all-black riding gear turning grey and hairy. I was also taught various knots used in tethering horses and tidying away their bridles and leads.

I had an upsetting experience, though; I was really taken with Max, but while I was grooming him with the brush (I was chuffed, because on this occasion they handed me the brush and rubber curry comb and left me to it), he kept twitching, then trying to kick and bite me, and then trying to wriggle away from me. I called the girl who was meant to be supervising me over to check if I was doing anything wrong, check his back for tender spots and so forth, but she couldn’t find anything, and he kept doing it. Seeing him so distressed and knowing that it was because of me was really upsetting me, but thankfully then a sempai came and said I’d been given the wrong brush, and fetched me a softer one. He was completely fine after that, and let me rub his face and neck to say sorry afterwards without attempting to bite me. They let me lead him back to his stall unassisted, too. He’s lovely, but I’m kind of worried he’ll have a lasting bad impression of me now. We’ll see.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

