It’s my birthday! (sort of)

30 04 2013

According to WordPress, today is my blog’s first anniversary!

I’m not sure how to mark this momentous occasion. On review, I think I’ve done a pretty good job of keeping up what I set out to do with this, which was to document my experiences riding as part of the university team in Japan while at the same time keeping my enthusiastic, obsessed witterings about my riding endeavours confined for the benefit of my friends who weren’t interested. I didn’t really think ahead to where I’d be at the same time this year, but here I am, still keeping up with it.

Because I miss him and still think of him often, here is a picture of Hokon, the belligerent stallion who, for some reason, stole my heart:

Sometimes, he was a real sweetheart.

Sometimes, he was a real sweetheart.

Actions

Information

9 responses

30 04 2013
Sparrowgrass

Ah, is it possible to be nostalgic for a horse I only ever knew through your blog?! Happy birthday.

30 04 2013
onahorse

Thank you!

Hokon was a true personality – I’m glad I got that across!

30 04 2013
thecasualphilosopher

Happy Blog BD! Hokon looks interesting. Can relate to a horse stealing one’s heart…..

30 04 2013
onahorse

It happens all the time. I wonder if horse contact triggers an oxytocin response sometimes. Heh.

Hokon was a very aggressive TB stallion. Insistent that he was the leader of the herd at all times, he would bite, kick, flick his tail and refuse to co-operate as long as you were on the ground… but once you were in the saddle, he was the best partner you could ask for.

Sometimes he was really sweet and affectionate. He liked having his neck groomed, and exhibited catlike behaviour when you were doing this for him. The funniest, most indignant thing he ever did to me, though, was nonchalantly wiping both sides of his face on my polo shirt after I’d removed his bridle one time. Heh.

30 04 2013
thecasualphilosopher

Ok, laughing now. He sounds wonderful though!

1 05 2013
mellchan

aww, well happy blog birthday. Nice to see a photo of Hokon, is he still at the riding club?

9 05 2013
onahorse

As far as I know!

5 05 2013
Sparrowgrass

Hi! I’ve nominated you for an award. Drop by my blog to pick it up: http://sparrowgrass.wordpress.com/2013/05/05/the-wordpress-family-award/

9 05 2013
onahorse

Awww, thanks!

Leave a Reply

