Liebster Award

18 05 2013

I was nominated for the Liebster Award by The Casual Rider!

Liebster Award

HOW TO ACCEPT THE AWARD:

Re-posted from the above:  “Now to the specifics of the Liebster Blog Award.  This is directly from Habits to Healthy .  From what I’ve learned about The Liebster Award, it’s a way to recognize blogs who have less than 200 followers.  Liebster is a German word that means beloved and valued.

“Here are the rules for accepting the award:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you and include a link back to their blog.
  2. List 11 random facts about yourself.
  3. Answer the 11 questions given to you.
  4. Create 11 questions for the bloggers you nominate.
  5. Choose 11 bloggers with 200 or less followers to nominate and include links to their blogs.
  6. Go to each bloggers page and let them know you have nominated them.”

MY NOMINEES:

This list will fall short of 11, as I don’t think I actually follow that many blogs with fewer than 200 followers!

My 11 questions:

1.  Do you speak a foreign language?

Yes: Japanese. To be honest I’m really not very at it compared to my peers, but I have a fair grasp of polite and honorific speech patterns and basic grammar, and can make myself understood without offending anyone if I need to. The feedback from my Japanese friends about my speech is that I sound funny, because my pronunciation is extremely good but I make a lot of mistakes. Heh.

2.  Have you adopted any stray or rescue animals?

Not at the present time, but the first pet I ever had was a rescue hamster and I have fostered cats before. The last rescue animal I had was an odd one: A weather loach!

I have been an active supporter of Redwings Horse and Donkey Sanctuary since a friend who worked for them as a volunteer welfare officer sadly passed away, and I think that should I find myself in a position to care for a horse of my own in the future I would probably seek to adopt one of their rescue animals before considering buying one.

3.  Any arts/crafts you do?

I am known to draw and make things sporadically. I tend to go for long stretches of time doing absolutely nothing, and then get an idea in my head of something I want to make or sketch, which I’ll then sit and work tirelessly on until it’s finished to my satisfaction. My last such project was to make a tiny rug for my cuddly horse, Arthur, who now has a Facebook page! It took me three days of hand-sewing over Christmas. Now he wears it every time he goes outside. Heh.

Arthur showing off his finished rug

4.  Favorite junk food?

Ooh, that’s a difficult one – I like all junk food! Heh. Does bacon count? Bacon sandwiches. No butter, no spread, just a thin layer of ketchup and several rashers of bacon between two slices of white bread. I try to be vegetarian most of the time – not because I think there’s anything ethically wrong with eating meat, but because I dislike the practices involved in its production – however I  do like meat, so I frequently fall off the waggon. Bacon is my kryptonite; mmmm, bacon.

5.  Introvert or extrovert?

That really depends. I can be extremely extroverted around people I know well, but am usually introverted around people I don’t. I find it really hard to make friends in a new place, which people who’ve known me for years still find really surprising.

6.  Last movie seen, or watched at home?

The Cabin in the Woods, which I saw at a friend’s house. I didn’t really enjoy it, in spite of generally quite liking horror as a film genre and appreciating the nods to H.P. Lovecraft and The SCP Foundation. I think the American teen movie thing just grates on me. Or just mainstream-teen depictions generally.

7.  Book you are currently reading?

I’m not reading any books at the moment. It’s technically still the exam period at university and if studying full-time does anything to you, it’s diminish your desire to read books for pleasure. Which is really sad, since it tends to be bookish people who choose to pursue long courses of study!

8.  Why do you blog?

I’ve been blogging for over ten years now. I never kept a diary before, but I find writing about stuff cathartic, and I take a small amount of comfort from knowing that someone else might read it. My previous efforts were entirely personal, but I started this blog as a place into which to channel my enthusiasm for horses and riding so I didn’t bore my friends who weren’t really interested with it. Heh.

9.  How many countries have you lived in?

Two: Japan and the United Kingdom. I’d love to go back to Japan for another extended stay, but I couldn’t live there forever. The payoff for having a lovely, clean, pretty living environment in which you never have to walk too far for everything you could possibly wish for is a society with strict rules to be adhered to, and everyone who lives there is always tired.

10. What do you like most about blogging?

I’m not sure. Either connecting with like-minded people in a manner that the culture of social networking is slowly pushing us away from (see Facebook and its insistence that we all use our real names and only connect with people we actually know in person), or being able to see a finished product that came out of my brain through my fingertips.

11. Do you read blogs on subjects different than your primary blog subject?

Yes… I follow one about goats, too! Heh.

If – and only if – you should want to answer eleven questions set by me in a post of your own, here are some:

  1. Assuming anyone who reads this has an opinion on the matter (it’s a safe bet, I think!), what is your favourite thing about horses?
  2. How old were you when you had your first riding experience and what do you remember most clearly about it?
  3. Do you feel that your riding endeavours are building up to a pursuit of any particular discipline, and if so what?
  4. Do you currently have any pets at home? Please give details.
  5. Do you practice any other ‘sporting’ activities in your leisure time? Again, spill the beans, s’il vous plaît.
  6. What kind of music do you like to listen to?
  7. If you could visit any country in the world, where would it be and why?
  8. Describe your relationship with footwear.
  9. Do you have an opinion on My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic and, if so, which of the six core ponies is your favourite?
  10. Tacos or burritos?
  11. If we were marooned together on a desert island with only coconuts, lizards, doc leaves, sand and bits of driftwood for entertainment, how would you use these things to create an entertainment spectacle that would delight me and keep me distracted until the rescue boat arrived?
Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

